Written by Press Release    Friday, 15 November 2013 16:56    PDF Print Write e-mail
Pools for College 7s Nationals Finalized
Sevens - Collegiate Sevens

The 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship pools have been determined for the three separate divisions competing at this year’s Championship.

Teams across the country participated in over 25 qualifying tournaments in hopes of either winning an automatic berth to Nationals or registering enough wins to be added to the field as an at-large selection. Last weekend’s slate of nine automatic qualifying tournaments wrapped up the sevens campaign leading up the Championships in Greensboro from Nov. 23-24.

After finalizing the three fields amounting to 48 well-deserving clubs, the USA Rugby Collegiate Championship Committee placed the schools in pools based on their success in sevens competition this fall.
Teams that did not win an automatic qualifying event were not eligible to be awarded a number one seed in the Men’s Division I Pool. The Championship Committee also gave consideration to Men’s DI teams from the same region to be placed in separate pools

Men’s Division I

Pool A Pool B PoolC Pool D Pool E Pool F
Arkansas State Saint Mary's Air Force Academy Central Washington Dartmouth Navy
Oregon State Oklahoma Lindenwood Davenport Cal Poly SLO Life
Florida Arizona State San Diego State Auburn South Carolina Colorado State
North Texas Middle Tennessee Arkansas San Jose State North Carolina State Texas

Women's Division

Pool A Pool B PoolC Pool D
Norwich Penn State Texas California
Princeton James Madison Stanford Indiana
Georgia Tech Oregon State Ohio State Virginia
Davenport Clemson George Washington Sam Houston State

Men’s Open Division
Pool A Pool B
James Madison Sonoma State
Principia New Hampshire
Emory UW Stout
LaFayette Southern Conference Winner