Written by Press Release    Friday, 27 July 2012 17:01    PDF Print Write e-mail
Final 2011/2012 NSCRO Rankings
Rankings - Small College

Final 2011/2012 National Small College Rugby Organization rankings

1. Salve Regina University (New England RFU). 11-0
2. California Maritime Academy (Northern California RFU). 5-1
3. Franciscan University (Allegheny RU). 9-1-1
4. University of North Florida (Florida RU). 10-2
5. Molloy College* (Met New York RFU). 10-1
6. Lock Haven University (East Penn RU). 7-2 (see note 4)
7. College of William & Mary* (Virginia RFU). 7-1
8. Wayne State College (Great Plains RFU). 7-1
9. University of Wisconsin – Parkside (Wisconsin RFU). 6-2
10. University of Puget Sound (Pacific Northwest RFU). 6-2
11. Tufts University* (New England RFU). 7-2
12. Rowan University* (East Penn RU). 9-1
13. California Lutheran University (Southern California RFU). 5-1
14. University of St. Thomas (Minnesota RFU). 5-2
15. University of Rochester (New York State RC). 7-1
16. University of Texas – Dallas (Texas RFU). 7-2
17. Wabash College (Indiana RU). 6-3
18. Colorado College (Eastern Rockies RFU). 4-1
19. Montclair State University (Met NY RFU). 7-2
20. Occidental College (Southern California RFU). 4-1
21. Oregon Institute of Technology (Pacific Northwest RFU). 6-0
22. Washington & Lee University (Virginia RU). 7-2
23. Frostburg State University* (Potomac RU). 6-2
24. Ursinus College (East Penn RU). 6-5
25. American University* (Potomac RU). 6-3

* Teams shown with asterisk are known to be planning to move to Division 2 starting in the Fall 2012 league season.

1. The rankings only include NSCRO-eligible teams who participated in 2011-12 league play.
2. The above rankings are based on a number of factors, including league play plus Local, Territorial and NSCRO playoff matches.
3. Record shown is based ONLY on league and playoff matches as best determined from Union websites and NSCRO playoff result for 2011-12 season.
4. Previously unranked Lock Haven University ranking is based on their winning the Spring MARFU D3 Championship by beating 3 ranked teams - William & Mary, Frostburg State and then Rowan in the final.


1. Carleton College (Minnesota RFU)
2. Lock Haven University (East Penn RU)
3. Wentworth Institute of Technology (New England RFU)
4. St. Bonaventure University (New York State RC)
5. Wayne State College (Great Plains RFU)
6. Fairfield University (Met New York RFU)
7. College of the Holy Cross (New England WRCC)
8. Western Connecticut State University (New England RFU)
9. Millersville University (East Penn RU)
10. Wheaton College (New England WRCC)
11. University of Maine-Orono (New England RFU)
12. Smith College (New England WRCC)
13. Plattsburgh State University (New York State RC)
14. Molloy College (Met NY RFU)
15. Augustana College (Great Plains RFU)
16. Bemidji State University (Minnesota RFU)
17. St. John Fisher College (New York State RC)
18. Lafayette College (East Penn RU)
19. Sacred Heart University (Met NY RFU)
20. Minnesota State University – Moorhead (Minnesota RFU)

The above rankings are based on a number of considerations, including Fall 2011 LAU league and playoff results as well as NSCRO playoff results.

1. Johnson State College (New England RFU)
2. Albright College (East Penn RU)
3. St. Anselm (New England RFU)
4. Susquehanna University (East Penn RU)
5. Tie - Springfield College (New England RFU) and Trinity College (New England RFU)

The above rankings are based on a number of considerations, including Fall 2011 LAU league and playoff results as well as NSCRO playoff results.