Written by RUGBYMag Staff    Sunday, 13 November 2011 15:24    PDF Print Write e-mail
Small College Women Finals Set

The final four teams in the National Small College Rugby Organization (NSCRO) women's DIII championships are confirmed, while the finalists for the DIV championship game have also been decided.

On Saturday Johnson State defeated St. Anselm 17-10 to join Albright in the DIV final to be held at Cherry Hill, NJ Sunday, Nov 20. Albright beat Susquehanna 29-10 last week.

Meanwhile in DIII, Wentworth needed overtime to beat Western Connecticut State 12-7 Saturday. St. Bonaventure edged Holy Cross 28-26.  Those two teams will face off in the semis November 19 at Cherry Hill. Meanwhile Lock Haven took it to Fairfield 33-17 to make the semis, where they will play Carelton, who won their quarterfinal 37-7 over Wayne State last week.

Details on next week's championships:
Saturday Nov. 19 and Sunday Nov. 20 in Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Hosted by the NSCRO and the Philadelphia Women's RFC

NSCRO Event Director
Steve Cohen

Medical Staff
Medical Physician - Dr. Katie Gollotto
Certified Athletic Trainer (ATC) - Stacie Anastasio, ATC

Official Rugby Merchandise Supplier
Rugby Athletic

Match Officials
Terry Haas (Head)
Pete Hesler, Referee
Richard Cobb, Referee and AR
Tim Burdick, AR

Division 3 Qualifying Teams
Region 1 Champion :
Wentworth Institute of Technology (New England RFU). Boston, MA. Enrollment = see below*
Region 2 Champion : St. Bonaventure University (New York State RC). Olean, NY. Enrollment = 990
Region 3 Champion : Lock Haven University (East Penn RU). Lock Haven, PA. Enrollment = 2,617
Region 4 Champion : Carleton College (Minnesota RFU). Northfield, MN. Enrollment = 1,024

* WIT is comprised of players from students who attend the Colleges of the Fenway. The Colleges of the Fenway are a collaboration of six neighboring Boston-based small colleges in the Fenway area, including: Emmauel College, Massachusetts College of Art and Design, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Simmons College, Wentworth Institute of Technology and Wheelock College.

Division 4 Qualifying Teams
Region 1 Champion :
Johnson State College (New England RFU). Reading, PA. Enrollment = 602
Region 2 Champion : Albright College (East Penn RU). Johnson, VT. Enrollment = 1,337

Saturday Nov. 19
11AM - Div 3 Semifinal - St. Bonaventure University (New York State RC) VS Lock Haven University (East Penn RU)
1PM - Div 3 Semifinal - Carleton College (Minnesota RFU) VS Wentworth Institute of Technology (New England RFU)

Sunday Nov. 20
9:30am: D3 3rd Place. 30 min. halves.
11am: D3 Championship.
12:45pm: D3 Awards Ceremony*
1pm: D4 Championship - Albright College (East Penn) VS Johnson State College (New England)
2:45pm: D4 Awards Ceremony*

Field Location - Home Field of the South Jersey RFC, Cherry Hill, NJ
Directions are at : http://www.epru.org/news/d.php?d=18