Written by RUGBYMag Staff    Tuesday, 20 September 2011 18:45    PDF Print Write e-mail
Australia Names Team for USA Match
International - Rugby World Cup

AUCKLAND - Australia head coach Robbie Deans on Wednesday announced his team to play their third Pool C match against USA at Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington on Friday.

Australia Team to Face the USA Sept. 23:

1. James Slipper
2. Tatafu Polota-Nau
3. Ben Alexander
4. Rob Simmons
5. Nathan Sharpe
6. Scott Higginbotham
7. Ben McCalman
8. Wycliff Palu
9. Will Genia (c) 
10. Quade Cooper
11. Drew Mitchell
12. Robert Horne
13. Anthony Faingaa
14. Adam Ashley-Cooper
15. Kurtley Beale


16. Stephen Moore
17. Sekope Kepu
18. Dan Vickerman
19. Radike Samo
20. Luke Burgess
21. Berrick Barnes
22. Pat McCabe

After all the talk about Australia selecting a relatively weak side, they haven't. Certainly four players could be characterized as green: 

Lock Rob Simmons has only 11 caps, centers Horne and Faingaa have no RWC appearances yet and only 20 caps between them. Flanker Scott Higginbotham has eight caps.

But on the other end of the spectrum, Nathan Sharpe makes his 2011 RWC debut, shooting for his 97th cap. Wings drew Mitchell and Adam Ashley-Cooper have 57 and 58 caps, respectively. 

It's not what many consider to be Australia's best side, but most will also agree the difference between their best 15 and worst 15 isn't much.